

Legislation Text

File #: RS-21-140, Version: 1

Consider a memorandum/resolution appointing commissioners to the Youth Advisory Commission.

- DATE: November 2, 2021
- TO: Kent Cagle, City Manager

FROM: Joseph Brown, Executive Director, Recreation Services

SUBJECT: Appointment of commissioners to the Youth Advisory Commission

BACKGROUND AND FINDINGS:

The Youth Advisory Commission (YAC) is comprised of (37) commissioners and an unlimited number of resource committee members, all of whom shall be students in the eighth through twelfth grade levels of the Killeen Independent School District service area. Prospective applicants were interviewed by the Mayor, two City Council members, and one Youth Commissioner. The interview process was completed on September 4th and 18th.

THE ALTERNATIVES CONSIDERED:

Option 1: Not appoint the recommended nominations as commissioners. This option will result in YAC not having a functional board to serve as a liaison to City Council.

Option 2: Choose to appoint the recommended nominations as Youth Advisory Commissioners for the 2021-2022 year.

CONFORMITY TO CITY POLICY:

Commissioners are subject to the attendance policy and procedure adopted by the City Council, (Section 2-118, Killeen City Code). Below are the proposed commissioners for the FY21-22 year.

RECREATION SERVICES-YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION			
Sub-Committee: All Council			
Current Commissioners (FY21)	New Commissioners (FY22)	Special Qualifications	
Aalaynah Harris	Aalaynah Harris	Student Representative	
Ahlysha Hicks	Aaliyah Harris	Student Representative	
Amaka Maria Okeke	Aleeza Nica	Student Representative	
Anthony Okeke	Breeze Ma	Student Representative	
Christian Matta	Caleb Mungul	Student Representative	

File #: RS-21-140, Version: 1

Christina Wade	Chance Ma	Student Representative
Dae'Tian Nanton	Christian Matta	Student Representative
Harley Bouchillon	Christina Wade	Student Representative
Jalen Cookson	Dae'Tian Nanton	Student Representative
Kama Rangel	Elisabeth Metcalf	Student Representative
Karla Hernandez	Gabriella Gonzalez	Student Representative
Matthew Jenkins	Isabel Castro-Cortez	Student Representative
Michel Boutin	Jalen Cookson	Student Representative
Nathan Hernandez	Jerry Wilson	Student Representative
Nicholas Trevino	Lya Bailey	Student Representative
Osmond Amoako	Michel Boutin	Student Representative
Otis Connolly	Otis Connolly	Student Representative
Rodolfo Alvarez	Shayla Lovett	Student Representative
	Xavier Hines	Student Representative

FINANCIAL IMPACT: N/A

What is the amount of the expenditure in the current fiscal year? For future years? $\ensuremath{\mathsf{N/A}}$

Is this a one-time or recurring expenditure? $\ensuremath{\mathsf{N/A}}$

Is this expenditure budgeted? N/A

If not, where will the money come from? $\ensuremath{\mathsf{N/A}}$

Is there a sufficient amount in the budgeted line-item for this expenditure? $\ensuremath{\mathsf{N/A}}$

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the City Council appoint the nominated individuals as YAC commissioners for the 2021-2022 year.

DEPARTMENTAL CLEARANCES:

Recreation Services Legal

ATTACHED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS:

N/A