City of Killeen

Special City Council Meeting Killeen City Hall November 12, 2020 at 5:00 p.m.

Presiding: Mayor Jose Segarra

Attending: Mayor Pro Tem Jim Kilpatrick (via video conference), Councilmembers Juan Rivera,

Gregory Johnson, Shirley Fleming, Debbie Nash-King and Steve Harris (arrived via

video conference at 5:12 p.m.)

Also attending were City Manager Kent Cagle, City Attorney Traci Briggs, City

Secretary Lucy Aldrich, and Sergeant-at-Arms Gillman.

Absent: Councilmember Butch Menking

Approval of Agenda

Motion was made by Mayor Pro Tem Kilpatrick to approve the agenda as written. Motion was seconded by Councilmember Nash-King. The motion carried unanimously.

Citizen Comments

No citizens signed up to speak.

Ordinances

OR-20-032 Consider an ordinance canvassing the returns and declaring results of the November 3, 2020 General and Special Election.

The City Secretary read the caption of the ordinance.

AN ORDINANCE BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF KILLEEN, TEXAS, CANVASSING RETURNS AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF A GENERAL AND SPECIAL ELECTION HELD NOVEMBER 3, 2020 FOR THE ELECTION OF A MAYOR AND THREE COUNCIL MEMBERS-AT-LARGE AND A PROPOSITION AMENDING 0.5% OF THE SALES TAX RATE FROM PROPERTY TAX RELIEF TO GENERAL GOVERNMENT PURPOSES.

Councilmember Johnson read the ordinance that certified the election results, stating the number of votes each candidate received, and that Jose Segarra was elected mayor (in an unopposed race), and Ken Wilkerson, Rickey "Rick" Williams and Mellisa Brown received the most votes for Council Member-at-Large, and that Proposition A passed.

Motion was made by Councilmember Johnson to approve OR-20-032, declaring Jose Segarra as Mayor, and Ken Wilkerson, Rickey "Rick" Williams and Mellisa Brown as Council Members-at-Large. Motion was seconded by Councilmember Fleming. Motion carried unanimously.

Special Recognitions

Mayor Segarra presented Councilmember Rivera and Councilmember Johnson with a plaque and thanked them for their service to the City of Killeen. Councilmember Menking did not attend the meeting.

Councilmember Harris joined the meeting at 5:12 p.m. during Special Recognitions.

Oath of Office & Certificate of Election

Bell County Judge Bill Cooke administered the Oath of Office to Jose Segarra, Ken Wilkerson, Rickey 'Rick' Williams and Mellisa Brown. Councilmember Rivera presented Mayor Segarra with his Certificate of Election and Mayor Segarra presented the Certificates of Election to Councilmember Wilkerson, Councilmember Williams and Councilmember Brown.

Standards of Conduct

City Manager, Kent Cagle, read the Standards of Conduct while the councilmembers in attendance signed the Standards of Conduct.

Call to Order and Roll Call

The new council was seated at the Dias. Mayor Segarra called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m. and took roll call, noting that all councilmembers were present.

Resolutions

RS-20-117 Consider a memorandum/resolution to elect a Mayor Pro-Tem.

Mayor Segarra asked for nominations.

Councilmember Nash-King nominated Shirley Fleming to serve as Mayor Pro-Tem. Councilmember Harris seconded the nomination.

Ayes 6 Nays 0, Councilmember Fleming did not vote

Adjournment

With no further business, upon motion being made by Councilmember Nash-King, seconded by Councilmember Wilkerson, and unanimously approved, the meeting was adjourned at 5:44 p.m.

	Jose Segarra, Mayor	
Lucy C. Aldrich, City Secretary		