## **City of Killeen**

Special City Council Meeting Killeen City Hall May 16, 2023 at 5:00 p.m.

Presiding: Mayor Debbie Nash-King

Attending: Jessica Gonzalez, Joseph Solomon, Michael Boyd, and Nina Cobb

Absent: Mayor Protem Wilkerson, Councilmembers Jose Segarra and Ramon Alvarez

Also attending were City Manager Kent Cagle, Assistant City Manager Danielle Singh, City Attorney Holli Clements, City Secretary Laura Calcote,

and Deputy City Secretary Beatrice Canseco

#### **Citizen Comments**

### **Oath of Office and Certificate of Election**

Municipal Court Judge, Kris Krishna, administered the Oaths of Office and Certificates of Election to Jessica Gonzalez, Joseph Solomon, Nina Cobb, and Michael Boyd.

### **Standards of Conduct**

City Manager, Kent Cagle, read the City Council Standards of Conduct 2023. City Council signed the Standards of Conduct accordingly.

# **Seating Assignments**

Mayor Nash-King conducted the tradition for filling the vacant seats on the dais. In the May 6<sup>th</sup> General Election, District 4 Councilmember Boyd, ran unopposed, so he was seated first, followed by District 2 Councilmember Solomon, District 3 Councilmember Cobb, and District 1 Councilmember Gonzalez, who were seated according to the number of votes they received in each of their races.

### **Ordinances**

**OR-23-011** Consider an ordinance canvassing the returns and declaring results of the May 6, 2023 General Election.

The City Secretary read the caption of the ordinance: AN ORDINANCE BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF KILLEEN, TEXAS, CANVASSING RETURNS AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF A GENERAL ELECTION HELD MAY 6, 2023 FOR THE ELECTION OF A DISTRICT COUNCILMEMBER FOR DISTRICT 1, DISTRICT 2, AND DISTRICT 3.

Regular City Council Meeting May 16, 2023 – Page 2

Prior to the Special City Council Meeting Mayor Nash-King and Councilmember Cobb canvassed the results of the May 6, 2023 General Election by reviewing the results provided by the City Secretary's Office. Mayor Nash-King read the ordinance that certified the 2023 General Election results, stating the number of votes each candidate received, and that Jessica Gonzalez was elected as Councilmember for District 1, Joseph Solomon was elected as Councilmember for District 2, and Nina Cobb was elected as Councilmember for District 3. Michael Boyd ran unopposed and was declared elected as Councilmember for District 4 by a previous ordinance passed in March 2023.

Motion was made by Councilmember Boyd to approve OR-23-011. Motion was seconded by Councilmember Cobb. The motion carried unanimously (4-0).

#### Resolutions

**RS-23-083** Consider a memorandum/resolution electing a Mayor Protem.

Motion was made by Councilmember Solomon to appoint Councilmember Cobb as Mayor Protem and to approve the RS-23-083. Motion was seconded by Councilmember Gonzalez. The motion carried 3-1, with Councilmember Boyd in opposition.

# **Adjournment**

With no further business, upon motion being made by Councilmember Boyd seconded by Councilmember Gonzalez and unanimously approved, the meeting was adjourned at 5:33 p.m.

	Debbie Nash-King, Mayor
	_
Laura J. Calcote, City Secretary	