

## APPOINTMENT OF COMMISSIONERS TO THE YOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION

## Background

- Youth Advisory Commission (YAC) was created in 1993 to serve as a liaison to the Killeen City Council
- YAC exists to assist in minimizing community problems relating to youth, while encouraging positive growth and development
- Mission Statement: To provide the youth of our community opportunities through volunteerism and service, by taking initiatives that are directed towards effective change

- Commissioners participate in social, cultural and recreational activities that are meant to empower them in a drug and alcohol-free environment
- Annual Youth Conference, President's Volunteer Service Award, Special Needs Dances, and Park clean ups are a few of our Notable Projects
- YAC is comprised of 37 commissioners & unlimited Resource and Junior members

## Background

- City Council makes appointments to the Youth Advisory
  Commission as vacancies occur
- September 4, 2021 and September 18, 2021, interviews were conducted by Mayor Jose Segarra, Councilmember Mellisa Brown, Councilmember Jessica Gonzalez, Councilmember Rick Williams, and our Recreation Coordinator
- Nineteen (19) students were recommended to serve as commissioners based on their leadership ability and community involvement

2021-2022 Members	Special Qualifications
Aalaynah Harris	Student Representative
Aaliyah Harris	Student Representative
Aleeza Nica	Student Representative
Breeze Ma	Student Representative
Caleb Mungul	Student Representative
Chance Ma	Student Representative
Christian Matta	Student Representative
Christina Wade	Student Representative
Dae'Tian Nanton	Student Representative

## Overview of Recommended Commissioners

2021-2022 Member	Special Qualifications
Elisabeth Metcalf	Student Representative
Gabriella Gonzalez	Student Representative
Isabel Castro-Cortez	Student Representative
Jalen Cookson	Student Representative
Jerry Wilson	Student Representative
Lya Bailey	Student Representative
Michel Boutin	Student Representative
Otis Connolly	Student Representative
Shayla Lovett	Student Representative
Xavier Hines	Student Representative

7

□ Staff recommends appointing the nominated individuals to serve as commissioners in 2021 - 2022