

STAFF REPORT

DATE: October 22, 2019

TO: David Ellison, Interim City Manager

FROM: Joseph Brown, Executive Director of Recreation Services

SUBJECT: Appointment of members to the Youth Advisory Commission

BACKGROUND AND FINDINGS:

The City Council is responsible for making appointments to the boards and commissions. These appointments are not only once a year, but as vacancies occur. The Youth Advisory Commission (YAC) was created in 1993 to serve as a liaison to the Killeen City Council. YAC exists to assist in minimizing problems relating to youth, while encouraging positive growth and development. Members participate in social, cultural and recreational activities that are meant to empower them in a drug and alcohol free environment. YAC is comprised of (37) commissioners and an unlimited number of resource committee members, all of whom shall be students in the eighth through twelfth grade levels of the Killeen Independent School District service area. Prospective applicants were interviewed by the Mayor, two City Council members, and one Youth Commissioner. The interview process was completed no later than September 30th of the appointment year.

THE ALTERNATIVES CONSIDERED:

Option 1: Not appoint the recommended nominations as commissioners. This option will result in YAC not having a functional board to serve as a liaison to City Council.

Option 2: Choose to appoint the recommended nominations as Youth Advisory Commissioners for the 2019-2020 year.

CONFORMITY TO CITY POLICY:

Commission members are subject to the attendance policy and procedure adopted by the City Council, (Section 2-118, Killeen City Code). Below are the proposed commissioners for the FY19-20 year.

KILLEEN VOLUNTEERS, INCYOUTH ADVISORY COMMISSION			
Sub-Committee: All Council			
Current Members	New YAC Members	Special Qualifications	
Ahlysha Hicks	Aalaynah Harris	Student Representative	
Amber Chancellor	Ahlysha Hicks	Student Representative	
Andrea Cavanagh	Amareyae Agosto	Student Representative	
Anthony Okeke	Amari Duckett	Student Representative	
Christen Dworshak	Andrea Cavanagh	Student Representative	
Dae'Tian Nanton	Anthony Okeke	Student Representative	

Delvin Taylor	Ariana Balarezo	Student Representative
Emilie Huck	Dae'Tian Nanton	Student Representative
Emmalie Helmer	Deren Richardson	Student Representative
Fabian Balarezo	Fabian Balarezo	Student Representative
Jeremiah Franklin	Ishmael Watkins	Student Representative
Joseph Low	Jalen Cookson	Student Representative
Julian Chavez	Jayson Richardson	Student Representative
Kaitlyn Low	Jazmine Allen	Student Representative
Kama Rangel	Joseph Low	Student Representative
Kathleen Castano	Julian Chavez	Student Representative
Keandre Taylor	Kaitlyn Low	Student Representative
Keelie Cole	Kama Rangel	Student Representative
Madison Barnett	Keelie Cole	Student Representative
Madelynn Spear	Kevin Arellano	Student Representative
Maria Munoz	Madelynn Spear	Student Representative
Mark Thomas	Maria Okeke	Student Representative
Markeisha Thomas	Mark Thomas	Student Representative
My'Azia Williams	Nathan Hernandez	Student Representative
Nathan Hernandez	Nicholas Trevino	Student Representative
Nicholas Trevino	Nylah Yville	Student Representative
Olivia Winder	Osmond Amoako	Student Representative
Otis Connolly	Otis Connolly	Student Representative
Patricia Barnett	Rashida Mohammed	Student Representative
Prince Johnson	Rodolfo Alvarez	Student Representative
Rodolfo Alvarez	Shyann Hancock	Student Representative
Ryan Haberstroh	Stacy Estelhomme	Student Representative
	Tyron Jones	Student Representative
		Student Representative
		Student Representative
		Student Representative

FINANCIAL IMPACT: N/A

What is the amount of the expenditure in the current fiscal year? For future years? $\ensuremath{\text{N/A}}$

Is this a one-time or recurring expenditure? $\ensuremath{\text{N/A}}$

Is this expenditure budgeted? N/A

If not, where will the money come from? $\ensuremath{\text{N/A}}$

Is there a sufficient amount in the budgeted line-item for this expenditure? $\ensuremath{\text{N/A}}$

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that City Council appoint the nominated individuals as commissioners for the 2019-2020 year.

DEPARTMENTAL CLEARANCES:

Recreation Services Legal

ATTACHED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS:

N/A