City of Killeen

Special Called City Council Meeting Killeen City Hall May 16, 2017 at 5:00 p.m.

Presiding: Mayor Jose L. Segarra

Attending: Mayor Pro-Tem Brockley Moore, Councilmembers Jim Kilpatrick, Juan Rivera, Shirley

Fleming, Gregory Johnson, Jonathan Okray, and Richard Young

Also attending were City Manager Ronald L. Olson, City Attorney Kathryn Davis, City

Secretary Dianna Barker, and Sergeant-at-Arms Cole.

Approval of Agenda

Motion was made by Mayor Pro-Tem Moore to approve the agenda as written. Motion seconded by Councilmember Fleming. The motion carried unanimously.

Ordinances

OR-17-007 Consider an ordinance canvassing the returns and declaring results of the May 6, 2017 General Election.

The City Secretary read the caption of the ordinance.

AN ORDINANCE BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF KILLEEN, TEXAS, CANVASSING RETURNS AND DECLARING THE RESULTS OF A GENERAL ELECTION HELD MAY 6, 2017 FOR THE ELECTION OF A DISTRICT COUNCIL MEMBER FOR DISTRICT 1, DISTRICT 2, DISTRICT 3 AND DISTRICT 4.

Staff comments:

Prior to the meeting Councilmember Okray, Councilmember Rivera, and Councilmember Johnson verified the results of the May 6th election. Councilmember Okray read the ordinance that certified the election results, stating the number of votes each candidate received, and that Shirley Fleming was elected as Councilmember for District 1, Debbie Nash-King was elected as Councilmember for District 2, Jim Kilpatrick was elected as Councilmember for District 4.

Motion was made by Councilmember Rivera to approve OR-17-007, declaring Shirley Fleming the elected for District 1, Debbie Nash-King the elected for District 2, Jim Kilpatrick the elected for District 3, and Steve Harris the elected for District 4. Motion was seconded by Councilmember Young. Motion carried unanimously.

Special Recognitions

Mayor Segarra presented Mayor Pro-Tem Moore and Councilmember Young with plaques and thanked them for their service to the City of Killeen.

Oath of Office and Certification of Election

The City Secretary administered the Oath to Shirley Fleming, Debbie Nash-King, Jim Kilpatrick, and Steve Harris. Mayor Segarra presented the Certification of Election.

Standards of Conduct

The City Manager, Ron Olson, read the Standards of Conduct while the entire new council signed the Standards of Conduct.

Call to Order and Roll Call of New City Council

The new council was seated at the Dias. Mayor Segarra called the meeting to order and took roll call, noting that each councilmember was present.

Resolutions

RS-17-050 Consider a memorandum/resolution to elect a Mayor Pro-Tem.

Mayor Segarra asked for nominations.

Councilmember Fleming nominated Councilmember Johnson.

Councilmember Rivera nominated Councilmember Kilpatrick.

Mayor Segarra asked for votes to appoint Councilmember Johnson as Mayor Pro-Tem.

Councilmembers Fleming, Johnson and Harris voted in favor.

Mayor Segarra asked for votes to appoint Councilmember Kilpatrick as Mayor Pro-Tem.

Councilmembers Rivera, Kilpatrick and Nash-King voted in favor.

Councilmember Okray abstained from voting for either candidate, and made a statement for the record. See attached.

Mayor Segarra broke the tie by voting for Councilmember Kilpatrick. New Mayor Pro-Tem Kilpatrick took the Mayor Pro-Tem seat next to Mayor.

Adjournment

With no further business, upon motion being made by Councilmember Okray, seconded by
Councilmember Rivera, and unanimously approved, the meeting was adjourned at 5:27 p.m

	Jose L. Segarra, Mayor	
Dianna Barker, City Secretary		