## TAX APPRAISAL DISTRICT BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- In 2023, the Texas Property Tax Code replaced the previous process for appointing the Board of Directors for the Tax Appraisal District.
- Previously, the City of Killeen appointed one member to the Tax Appraisal Board.
- On January 1, 2025, the Tax Appraisal Board will be made up of the elected Tax Assessor-Collector, 3 members elected by voters, and 5 members appointed by taxing entity election.

- 3
- All taxing entities nominated up to five candidates. The City of Killeen nominated Kenny Wells.
- Each entity now has a certain number of votes based off the percentage of the total tax levy to put towards whichever candidate or candidates they choose. The City of Killeen has 552 of the 5,000 total votes.
- The five candidates that receive the most votes will be members of the Board of Directors for 2025.
- Because the City of Killeen has over 5% of the total votes, the City is required to approve a resolution with its vote no later than November 19, 2024.

- 4
- □ John Banks
- James "Lynn"Bilberry
- □ Joe Burnett
- □ Jared Bryan

- Sam Fulcher
- Susan Jones
- Marvin Rainwater
- □ Todd Scott
- □ Kenny Wells

## Recommendation

Staff recommends that City Council approve a resolution to cast a ballot allocating its 552 votes to one or more candidates for the Tax Appraisal District of Bell County Board of Directors for 2025.